Board

The Nittany Valley Society’s Board of Directors is responsible for providing oversight and guidance to the president, consistent with our mission.

nvs_seal-300x300Board Schedule

  • 2017: Jul. 15 (Arts Fest), Nov. 10 (Homecoming)
  • 2018: Mar. 17, Jul. 14 (Arts Fest), Oct. (Homecoming)
  • 2019: Mar. 23, Jul. 13 (Arts Fest), Oct. (Homecoming)
  • 2020: Mar. 19, Jul. 11 (Arts Fest), Oct. (Homecoming)

Conference Line: 814-230-0567

Board of Directors

Shauna Barnes (Term: 2015-present)
Originally from Pittsburgh, Shauna currently lives on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. She works as general counsel for a craft brewery. shauna@nittanyvalley.org

Christopher A. Buchignani (President, Term: 2012-present)
Chris is a marketing consultant who lives and works in State College, PA. He serves as president of the board of directors. chris@nittanyvalley.org

Sean Clark (Term: 2012-present)
Sean is an organizational consultant residing in Philadelphia, PA. He has been a leader on the issue of free speech in higher education for over a decade. sean@nittanyvalley.org

Dave Cole (Term: 2014-present)
Dave lives in New York City where he works as a visual producer at The Wall Street Journal. He was born and raised in State College, Pennsylvania, where his parents still reside. dave@nittanyvalley.org

Kevin Horne (Vice President, Term: 2013-present)
Kevin is a law student at Penn State and is Managing Editor Emeritus of Onward State. He served two terms as the president of the graduate student body. kevin@nittanyvalley.org

Melissa McCleery (Term: 2015-present)
Melissa is a political finance consultant living and working in the great city of Philadelphia. A recent Penn State alum, she stays in touch with the University via football, Onward State, and frequent trips back to Happy Valley. mmccleery@nittanyvalley.org

Christopher G. Miller (Term: 2012-present)
Chris is a mechanical engineer who lives in Conshohocken, PA. cmiller@nittanyvalley.org

Anthony Panichelli (Term: 2015-present)
Born and raised in West Chester, Pennsylvania, Anthony graduated from Penn State in 2014 with a degree in Political Science. He was formerly the Speaker of Penn State’s student government, and was a member of the Lion Ambassadors, Penn State Mock Trial, and the waitstaff of the Tavern Restaurant. Currently, he is a Foodservice Sales Representative for Hormel Foods and lives in Washington, DC. apanichelli@nittanyvalley.org

Tom Shakely (Chair, Term: 2012-present)
Tom is executive director of the Terri Schiavo Life & Hope Network. An eighth-generation Pennsylvanian from Bucks County, Tom majored in Political Science at Penn State, during which time he developed a lasting affection for the beauty of the Nittany Valley and its people. tom@nittanyvalley.org

Alex Smith (Treasurer, Term: 2012-present)
Alex works as a financial analyst in Radnor, PA and lives in Philadelphia. alex@nittanyvalley.org

Rick Smith (Secretary, Term: 2012-present)
Rick is a logistics professional in Camp Hill, PA. rick@nittanyvalley.org

Former Board Members

  • Michael C. Gallo (2012-13)
  • Joseph Paul (2012-13)
  • Kristi Swartz (2013-14)
  • Jonathan Hartland (2012-14)
  • Anthony Christina (2012-15)
  • Cori Agostinelli Kalupson (2013-15)
  • Zach Zimbler (2012-16)
  • Steve Garguilo (2013-16)

Previous Board Schedules

  • 2017: April 20,
  • 2016: March 12 (Philadelphia), July 9 (Arts Fest), October 8 (Homecoming), Dec. 3
  • 2015: March 28 (Philadelphia), July 11 (Arts Fest), October 11, Dec. 5
  • 2014: March 22 (Pittsburgh), July 12, September 7, December 6
  • 2013: March 23 (Philadelphia), July 13, September 7, December 8
  • 2012: April 14, July 14, September 1, December 2